Read Live User Guide

Series and Levels

Read Naturally Live stories are grouped into levels based on their degree of difficulty. Read Naturally Live assigns levels to its materials based on several readability formulas.

Read Naturally Live levels range in difficulty from a first-grade to an eighth-grade reading level. Because struggling readers can rarely make full-year leaps as they progress, levels are available at almost every half year.

For some of the Read Naturally Live levels, you have a choice of series. Regardless of the series you choose, the primary purpose of Read Naturally Live is to build fluency in developing and struggling readers. Each series additionally works on other areas of reading development, such as phonics, vocabulary, and comprehension. The following series are available:

Sequenced Series

The Sequenced stories make up the basic series and are appropriate for any developing or struggling reader. This series spans first- through eighth-grade reading levels. The Sequenced series builds fluency and supports comprehension and vocabulary growth.

Levels available: 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0, 5.6, 6.0, 7.0, 8.0

Phonics Series

Like the Sequenced series, the Phonics materials are primarily designed to build fluency. In the Phonics series, each story and its supporting activities focus on the decoding of a featured phonics pattern.

Levels available:

  • Level 0.8a: short a, o, i
  • Level 0.8b: short u, e, and mixed
  • Level 1.3a: long vowels with silent e
  • Level 1.3b: long vowel pairs
  • Level 1.8a: digraphs
  • Level 1.8b: blends
  • Level 2.3a: r-controlled vowels and soft c/g
  • Level 2.3b: other letter combinations
  • Level 2.6a: short a, e, i
  • Level 2.6b: short o, u, and mixed
  • Level 2.7a: long a, e, i
  • Level 2.7b: long o, u, and mixed

Each story includes many words with the featured pattern, a short audio phonics lesson, and a word list activity to support the development of phonics skills.

Idioms Series

The Idioms series is designed to provide native English speakers and English language learners an opportunity to learn common American idioms as they work on reading fluency and comprehension.

Levels available: 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5

Español Series

The Read Naturally Live–Español series includes complete sets of stories with supporting material in Spanish. When students work in an RNL–Español story, the application itself is also delivered in Spanish.

Levels available: 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 5.0, 5.6


Please let us know what questions you have so we can assist. For Technical Support, please call us or submit a software support request.

Click to refresh image